The Shia Ismaili Muslims are a community of ethnically and culturally diverse peoples living in over 25 countries around the world, united in their allegiance to His Highness Prince Karim Aga Khan (known to the Ismailis as Mawlana Hazar Imam) as the 49th hereditary Imam (spiritual leader), and direct descendant of Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him and his family).


Articles related to: Government of France

Mawlana Hazar Imam and Prince Amyn receive honours from the French government

France conferred honours on Mawlana Hazar Imam and Prince Amyn for their contributions to culture at the Ministry of Culture in Paris. Photo: Farida Bréchemier Guerdjou / MCC

The Government of France conferred honours on Mawlana Hazar Imam and Prince Amyn for their contributions to culture, both personally and through the activities of the Aga Khan Development Network. The French Minister for Culture and Communication, Frédéric Mitterrand, paid tribute to Hazar Imam and his brother at a ceremony held in Paris last week.

Also see:
» Minister Frédéric Mitterrand’s speech in English (disponible en français);
» Related coverage at the AKDN website.

more »

A beacon of hope from the summit of Afghanistan’s highest mountain

The Four Tigers of Wakhan survey their path to the summit of Noshak. Photo: Louis Mernier

Four young Afghan Ismaili mountaineers from Wakhan wanted to offer a message of peace and hope to their countrymen. Together with a team of Frenchmen, they set out to climb Noshaq — the country’s highest mountain.

more »

Sharing Options:  Email this page Email    Print this page Print    Bookmark and Share Bookmark & Share
This is the official website of the Ismaili Muslim Community © Islamic Publications Limited 2009. Terms and Conditions